Check out market updates

What Did The Schengen Agreement Accomplish

In recent years, the agreement has resulted in a so-called 90/180 rule. If you are a citizen of a country outside the Schengen area, you can travel to the region without a visa for long periods of time. The rule provides for a 90-day visa-free trip within 180 days. This may apply to tourists looking for holidays or businessmen who make frequent excursions to the area. A Schengen visa issued by one of the Schengen Member States allows its holders to travel freely and cross the internal borders of a Schengen country of the European Union. A Schengen visa also grants the right to enter all European Free Trade Association (EFTA) countries. On the other hand, eu Member States that are not part of the Schengen area also grant visa-free visa to third-country nationals, provided they meet two essential requirements: they hold a valid Schengen visa; their country has entered into a visa-free agreement with the non-Schengen European country that wishes to be visited. The result of these efforts – the series of agreements known as Schengen – has had an impact on border control and visa policy in the European Union (EU) Member States. Schengen opened the borders between the participating countries, but demanded changes to allow cooperation on common controls at external borders. The Schengen Agreement required some mutual trust in immigration and asylum policies, as new residents of one country would then have access to all other Schengen members without a visa and without a passport. However, the harmonisation of immigration policy is in principle the responsibility of the EU institutions and not of The Schengen itself.

Denmark also has a unique position with regard to Schengen, because, unlike other Schengen countries, it can decide whether or not to take new decisions under the Schengen agreements. The November 13 attacks in Paris, which killed 130 people, led to an urgent change of mentality in the Schengen agreements. “Schengen is at the heart of one of the most tangible agreements of European integration.” – Franco Frattini, European Commissioner for Justice, Freedom and Security, 2004-2009. Differences of opinion between Member States led to a deadlock in the abolition of border controls within the Community, but in 1985 five of the ten Member States at the time – Belgium, France, Luxembourg, the Netherlands and West Germany – signed an agreement on the phasing out of border controls.